A-Z: General definitions: Seven Deadly Sins


Usually defined as Pride, Covetousness, Lust / Lechery, Envy, Gluttony, Anger, Sloth. These sins were referred to as deadly because, unless the sinner repented and received forgiveness, they could have deadly consequences for the soul. Another term for 'deadly' is 'mortal'. A mortal sin was an act considered to be so wicked that, unless repented of and forgiven, it condemned the offender to eternal damnation, causing the death of the soul.

Related Topics

Big ideas: Sin

Scan and go

Scan on your mobile for direct link.