A-Z: General definitions: New Testament


A 'testament' is a covenant (binding agreement), a term used in the Bible of God's relationship with his people. The New Testament is the second part of the Christian Bible. Its name comes from the new covenant or relationship with God which Christians believe Jesus made possible through his death and resurrection. The New Testament writings were produced by the Christian community c.50-100 CE and were written in Greek. They were subsequently affirmed as authoritative by the Church. The New Testament is comprised of 27 books. A) The four Gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke, John b) Acts (the Early Church) c) Epistles (Letters to churches and individuals): Romans, 1 Corinthians & 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians & 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy & 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 Peter & 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John & 3 John, Jude d) Revelation (Apocalypse).

Related Topics

Big ideas: Word of God

Scan and go

Scan on your mobile for direct link.